Habits

I have been reading a book called “hello, habits”. It has been good so far.

It is a result of authors research about habits written in a light form of short paragraphs.

It recommended to start a journal/diary based on a book that later I googled to be available only in Japanese. Sadly, I don’t want to struggle with Japanese nowadays and read in English or Polish instead.

But it made me search in my own house. Turns out I had 3 small journals written in the past. I laughed reading the foreshadowing sentence in one of them: “dated 26.9.2016, (…) and maybe being pro is not for me. Maybe this everyday pressure, stress, doubts will burn me out in the end and maybe it is not worth it.” (mind you, I wasn’t pro yet). In the journal I turned it around that the consciousness of those hurdles existence will make it easier to bear them, but the current truth is that it was not enough. I found it funny that I already knew myself this well in the past.

After reading more, I decided it is good to have memories of past thoughts like this. Maybe future me will be reflective about today me, so I will start a new journal. Hopefully a diary with daily entries. A new habit…?

The reason why I am not doing it on this blog, daily, for one: I made a voting on server and people decided they prefer rarer and more interesting posts (one incoming in the future – hopefully); and second: this way I can write more private stuff without being bothered who reads it (oh no, what about future histori- who cares). Writing for myself. I used to write “Dear Future Oneye … Today’s Oneye” and I will continue this trend. Good way to remember how to say things in Polish too!

Meantime, I was dragged into Xiangqi League on our Harbour server. First time in a long time I am excited to compete with something else than shogi. First game was a loss, but it is kind of funny to be once again lost in the territory of a new game. What was that piece again? What is the correct opening move? What are they doing? Beginner mindset is full of joy. Based on this experience I am slightly thinking of doing Youtube series like “Super beginner series” and imagining I am talking to a shogi beginner, explaining the simplest of basics, but… First I have to finish other stuff! First things first!… Building up prioritizing habits and finishing old projects!

3 thoughts on “Habits

  1. I know you got interested in shogi through the Naruto manga, but I was wondering if you’re familiar with Shion No Ou (manga or animal or both) and what you think of it.

    Like

Leave a comment